“Facebook…we need to separate!”

Dear Facebook,

I’ve been thinking about this for a little while now. It’s keeps me up at night, but you already know this. It’s this idea that I’ve become disenchanted with you. You’re not what I what thought you were, in fact you’re more sinister than I expected. You’re destroying the relationships around me.

How are you doing this….

You suck the life out of me.

You disguise real authentic relationships with artificial ones.

You give me a complex when I see that no one “liked” my comments.

You  persuade me that there’s something constantly going on that I need to know about.

You create in me this need to be narcissistic, as if everyone needs to know about me all the time.

You convince me that you’re more important than spending quality time with my wife.

You need to go…

Facebook has been a huge tool in me connecting with my students and in youth ministry in general. But I have to do something. I look how artificial my world has become and I need a break. I need time to spend talking with people and use my real voice to do it. I need to spend more time with my wife, looking into her gorgeous eyes and listening to her talk about her day, not constantly checking my phone for an update on my wall. I need to go out and spend time with my students and not think that putting a “hey what’s up” on their wall is going to suffice. I need to be real, authentic and willing to allow Jesus to move, encourage and motivate me, not Facebook. 

Facebook…I think we need a break.

Best Regards,

Lucas Miller

Leave a Reply

