Winter Camp

First off…Pondo is not a terrible camp, however its not the best either. Here’s are a few of highlights and lowlights of Winter Camp 2008:

Highlights

  • Snow. Yes, there was a lot it, and the students loved it!
  • Parachute Passing. I wasn’t so much into the lead singer’s voice as I was with the fact that he used a Casio MT-640 keyboard. I nearly wet myself.
  • No one died and I didn’t break a leg. I actually did really well considering I haven’t been skiiing/snowboarding in over 10 years.
  • Our cabin was warm, and plenty of showers that never got used except by the leaders (go figure).
  • Midnight tubing…one word…AWESOME!
  • The camp nurse (Lisa) and camp staff (Becky) were awesome!!!

Lowlights

  • No signs for anything. My guys were National Geographing their way to the cabins at night. A simple sign that stated “cabins 1-15 this way” would have been delicious.
  • No lights. Trekking through the snow…OK. At night with little or no lights…not OK. I’m surprised none of my kids didn’t end up a bear’s bowel movement.
  • The food was so, so.
  • Didn’t like the fact that we ate and had the main sessions in the same location. I know…I’m weird.
  • No coffee shop…they served us fake coffee.
  • The session programing was cheesy.
  • My students really didn’t connect well with the speaker. Not his fault…sometimes this happens.

This was a weird camp. I never felt like “what just happened” after camp before. I always came back excited. Not so with this camp. I felt that everything was weak. It’s hard when all you hear all weekend is “Thousand Pines is so much better” or “can we go to Thousand Pines next year?” With that said, I walked away with something I will blog about later…it’s called silence.

One thought on “Winter Camp

  1. waddey says:

    I came across your blog tag surfing. I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time. I was a youth minister for 13 years so I can relate to much of what you are going through. Toward the end of my tenure as a student minister I walked away from many camps not knowing if they did any good or not. For me, camps just began to run together. They all sounded the same, said the same stuff, and had the same anoying “movement” songs. The only camps that seemed to distinguish themselves were the ones where my students were required to do some kind of mission work.

Leave a Reply

